Omega Ensemble’s Ecstatic Dances

Omega Ensemble’s Ecstatic Dances

Phillip Glass’s turbo charged Violin Concerto No. 2, alongside the world premiere of a new Clarinet Concerto by legendary Australian composer Ross Edwards.

This event has passed.

When Ross Edwards composed his first Ecstatic Dance in 1978, he discovered an idiosyncratic and kinetic way of writing. It was a formative moment, from which emerged the composers’ iconic and infectiously jubilant style that defined a generation of Australian classical music. In his 80th birthday year, Omega Ensemble gives the world premiere of a new Clarinet Concerto led by Artistic Director David Rowden.

An ode to the infectious spirit of rhythm and dance, this premiere work is accompanied and Phillip Glass’ epic Violin Concerto No. 2, performed by UK violin maverick Thomas Gould. Entitled The American Four Seasons, the legendary composers’ electrifying concerto is a visceral homage to the forces of nature, packed full of dizzying twists and turns, turbo-charged drive and heart-stopping intensity.

Jessie Montgomery - Strum
Ross Edwards - Clarinet Concerto No. 2 [World Premiere]
Philip Glass - Violin Concerto No. 2, ‘The American Four Seasons’

 Find out more about Omega Ensemble’s Ecstatic Dances. Presented by City Recital Hall. 


  • 20 Jun - 20 Jun, 23
  • Regular price $69.00 $15.00 Playwave Price

    SYDNEY NSW 2000

You need to be a member to make a purchase.
If you are already a member you can sign in here.

Want more?